Taking It Easy

So, I’ve finished my third and fourth novels, part of the connected series that starts this month with FATHER MATERIAL, and I told myself to relax and soak up the sun. Or read. Or watch a movie. Anything but write. Seems fabulous after the mad rush I put myself through to meet my deadline but after working in news for over 10 years, it’s difficult for me to slow down. I thrive on deadlines. Pressure brings out the best in me and too much time the worst. If I know I have plenty of time between deadlines I tend to procrastinate, but if the deadline breathes down my neck it kickes my rear in gear. I admit, it’s not the best way to do things but it seems to be my method–if screwing around and scaring the life out of myself can be considered a method, that is.

So, here I am, without a project and I’m feeling a little aimless. I’ve been playing with a new idea but I’m still meandering around the plot. I have a vague idea of how it should work but there’s plenty of wiggle room. I could spend days on picking out the appropriate names, much less the plot points. Guess I should put my nose to the grindstone but you know, without a deadline…you guessed it! I’m procrastinating!

Happy Writing,

Kimberly

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kamrin on June 14, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Procrastinate, procrastinate, procrastinate! Take a moment to just breathe and relax….ok–breaks over; back to work *whoopish*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

