Party Like A Rock Star

images.jpeg

It’s New Year’s Eve (and also my bf’s birthday so here’s a shout-out to you, Nicole!) and many people (including moi) are going out tonight to, yes, you got it, party like a rock star. This will be the first time since the baby that me and the dh are going to enjoy a New Year’s Eve party at a friend’s house. Of course, we have to rock-paper-scissors to find out who gets to drink and who gets to drive (can’t do both, of course!) but I’m fairly excited to have someplace to go. I have to be honest though, New Year’s Eve parties were never really my thing even when I was younger (not that I haven’t tore it up nonetheless) but I have some doozy party memories of the nights that I did ring in the New Year with a few friends (mainly Jack, Jim, and Gin) and there are a few nights I just don’t remember at all. Thankfully, I have good friends who always ensured I made it home safe and with the person I came with.

So, with that in mind, here are a few tips for all you rockers as you head out into the night dressed to kill with party on the brain:

1).  Two-fisting drinks is generally considered bad form and quickly leads to unfortunate dance partners who look far cuter than they really are without the alcohol.

2). When you can no longer taste the alcohol in your drink that is NOT the time to say to the bartender “Make this a double!” This is your tastebuds telling you that you are smashed and well on your way to alcohol poisoning.

3). Your friends know that you love them. You don’t have to tell them ad nauseum with a gin slur. Bad form and annoying.

4). Everyone thinks alcohol makes them good dancers. It doesn’t. In fact, it does the opposite and you could kill someone with your attempt at the newest hip hop dance moves. Here’s a bonus tip: Anything that requires holding your foot behind you and jerking in a convulsive moment is ill-advised in a crowd.

5). And, finally, whomever thinks that alcohol improves their driving is an idiot and you really shouldn’t allow yourself to ride with them for that person is up for nomination for a Darwinism award and he/she just might win. The prize? Dying for doing something stupid.  And you don’t want to be anywhere near them when the award committee arrives.

So, there you have it. Some quick and easily digestible nuggets of wisdom for you to take on your journey to drink the night away and ring in the New Year with acts of incredible stupidity, bad dance moves, and questionable sexual choices. Party on!

Happy New Year!

Warmly,

 Kimberly

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kim on December 31, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    hahaha on #3. So true. I remember those days. Have a great time at your party! I’m staying in and going to cozy up on the couch with a good book and my hubby.

    Reply

  2. Sounds like a good plan! I like the good book part. 🙂 I just finished Nora Roberts’ Blood Brothers. Fantastic! Now I have to wait for the next in the series.

    Kimberly

    Reply

  3. LOL. I’ve been known (when I was younger) to do #3 on occastion. Too funny. Hope you had a great New Year’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

