Time To Rev That Engine

The time for lounging like a lizard in the sun is definitely over — the time has come to kick start that brain of mine and tap those creative juices for as of today I am one hot commodity. (Note the very big grin.)

Let me fill you in a bit. Two weeks ago my agent called to tell me Silhouette Romantic Suspense wanted to offer me a two-book deal and I gladly — gleefully even — accepted. I had submitted a proposal a few months ago and I’d nearly given up hope of landing another line when BAM! fate intervened and my phone was ringing. Needless to say, I was dancing on a cloud.

Then, today, my agent called and told me that Harlequin Superromance was ready to go to contract on my 3-book proposal and I nearly fell over. All three? You’re kidding me? WOW! I can tell you, getting this bit of news lifted my spirits even higher than they were from the previous news about Sil SRS as I was starting to fret about getting a spot in the 2009 Supers calendar. But today, I am happy. Ridiculously, deliriously so and I knew I had to share. I’ve been remiss in my blog, heck, I’ve been flat-out neglectful of everything aside from watching in despair how my waistline has continued to grow. Before you ask, no, not pregnant. Just…pleasantly plump. Ah for the days of the Rubenesque woman. Oh well. I’ll console myself with indoor plumbing. Weight Watchers may be in my near future. My friend Kay Stockham has inspired me. But I digress.

Anyway, so, in a nutshell, Kim is going to be one busy girl with five books to churn out. Hehehe…I love it. Now, remind me of this when I’m tearing my hair out, suffering through deadline hell, and creative stonewalls. Oh yes. Those times will come. But let’s enjoy this lovely moment while it lasts…the moment where I am happy, appreciated and talented. 🙂

And while I am chatting it up might I mention that I have heartburn unlike anything I’ve ever experienced? It’s wretched and wicked and did I mention painful? Yeah. Nothing seems to stop it. In one day I’ve eaten Gaviscon, (this stuff is gross), Tums, Rolaids, Protonix, and I even chugged a glass of milk. Nothing. Works. Help me. This is a level of hell. It’s like there’s this little gnome buried under my breastbone and he’s stoking the fire to barbecue my esophagus. The pain has made my teeth ache, for crying out loud! Yikes. Please tell me there’s an answer out there to my pain! Tell me how to put out the fire!

Alright, that’s it for now. I’ll try to be more sociable and when I know more about release dates and such I’ll let you know!

Happy Writing,

Kimberly

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Trudy on May 17, 2008 at 5:06 am

    I’m so happy for you, Kim! You deserve this success. As for the heartburn, a trip to the doc’s might be in order. Have you tried cimetidine (generic tagamet)?

    Love,

    Trudy

    Reply

  2. Posted by poppy on May 17, 2008 at 7:00 am

    I always knew you’d make it. I am VERY proud of you, xo, Poppy

    Reply

  3. That’s wonderful news, about the book deals that is – congrats! As for the heartburn, I have no advice to give for that ;(

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kenna on May 17, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Yay you!!! I still cant believe I actually know someone famous!!!!

    As for the Weight Watchers, I strongly reccomend it. I’ve lost 11 pounds in 6 weeks, yeah I know it’s not a lot but I got a size smaller when I got a dress for Britt’s graduation (yay me). As for the heartburn, I agree with Trudy a trip to the doc might be in order. If you find yourself there, request aciphex. It’s what they have me on and it actually works (as I loose weight my heartburn is also getting lighter).

    Congrats Again!!!!

    Hugs,

    Kenna

    Reply

  5. Trudy: I almost bought Tagamet when I was at the store but went with Gaviscon instead. I think a trip to the doc might be in order, too. Except I think my GP is an idiot and I hate going to see him. :-p Oh well, I’ll just have to bite the bullet cuz this is ridiculous!

    Poppy: Awww, you’re so sweet! Thanks.

    Kenna: Famous? Hardly but maybe someday! One can only hope…yeah, I’m going with a friend to a meeting on Monday. I’d like to lose a few pounds before National in August. Congrats on your 11 pounds! I think that’s awesome!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Brooke on May 17, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Fantastic news, Kim! Congratulations. It sounds as if you’re turning your passion into a way to make a living.

    Reply

  7. Way to go Kim!! Who knew Mariposa could turn out a literary Star! Oh yes, you are! So happy for you!!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Ellen on May 17, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Mega Congratulation Kim. I am definately looking forward to your books. And GO TO THE DOCTOR!!! If necessary change doctors.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Ranurgis on May 18, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Big congratulations are in order: first the 4+ Top Pick for your latest book from RT and now two (2)! new contracts for five new books. I bet that TP didn’t hurt the equation, though increased sales are the main measure of success. Unfortunately, I’m still unable to help much with that.

    I was just able to find “Return to Emmett’s Mill” at the library. It’s the book I first contacted you about because some parts of the situation could be drawn from my life. I’m very much looking forward to reading it.

    I wish you lots of good brainstorms for all five books.

    Way to go!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Ranurgis on May 18, 2008 at 5:18 am

    As for heartburn, I’m afraid I can’t help with that since I have no idea what really causes it and have rarely experienced it myself.

    However, I do get horrible cases of intestinal cramps. I had a massive attack just this afternoon that knocked me down for several hours. Therefore, I can definitely empathize with you.

    I’ve been going for natural remedies like acidophilus for my problem. I just looked up “heartburn” at one site and apparently a fruit that’s helpful is papaya. I’ve had it fresh, as pills, or as dried fruit. Maybe it’s something for you to try especially if you like fresh fruit.

    Reply

  11. Elle: I think the consensus is that a trip to the doc may be necessary. 😦

    Ranguris: Thank you! Yes, things have been moving along at quite a clip lately. Can’t complain. I hope you enjoy Return To Emmett’s Mill.

    Kimberly

    Reply

  12. Posted by Mommy on May 19, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Kim…get to a gastroencologist! Now! How come you didn’t say anything yesterday? That can be really serious at your age. Did you try the Prilosec? It’s over the counter.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Mommy on May 19, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  14. Posted by Mommy on May 19, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    [IMG]http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q68/kp-31/MommyBall.jpg[/IMG]

    Reply

  15. Hi Kim!
    Well, well, what a problem to have!! I’m SO happy for your big successes of late. You’ve been on a steady roll and now looks like you’re ready for more challenges. Way to go! I agree with your other friend about maybe a trip to the doc, but I also strongly believe in some kind of exercise like yoga or (my favorite,) pilates. You learn to BREATHE in a healing way and it really does calm things down in your stomach. Even just closing your eyes and breathing very deeply about 10 times will instantly calm you (for a few minutes, anyway!) *G*
    Best of luck – you’ll fall into step in no time!
    Kayla

    Reply

  16. Posted by kamrin on May 27, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Congrats sista on five books! Now…get crackin!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

