Going Under The Knife

Tomorrow I go under the surgeon’s knife to have my gall bladder taken out. You see, I’ve been having terrible gall bladder attacks that are quite painful and a sonogram revealed my gall bladder full of gravel. Note how I said gravel, not stones. Yep. I’ve been carrying around a pocketful of calcified bits of blech in my body. Gross. And they have to go. The little suckers have been causing all sorts of havoc with my digestion, and I’m just finished with it. I know there’s some kind of flush you can do (Trudy, I know you’re railing at my decision not to go herbal) but it involves lying on your side for an entire day while you take this herbal concoction while your body flushes out more than 300 stones in one go because it also pulls from your liver. Note again how I said, “flush,” yeah, as in lots of bathroom time. No thanks. Not this time. I just want the sucker gone. I know your gall bladder makes this certain enzyme that I will need to supplement but I figure that’s okay.

So, in preparation of tomorrow I’ve been — ready for this — totally nesting! Yeah, you know that phenomenon where pregnant women start cleaning obsesssively right before they go into labor? Yeah, that kind of nesting. I’ve already scrubbed my kitchen and now I’m eying the bathroom with a speculative stare. I’m also in a hurry to get everything I need done such as laundry, groceries, last-minute work stuff and packing needs for our vacation (which isn’t until the end of the month but hey I’m in a organized kind of mood) but as I sit and pen this short blog I think I’ve hit upon the reason for all this productivity…I’m nervous.

I know it’s a simple surgery, second most common, actually, but I am a bit twitchy about going under the knife. Weird things happen. Like the surgeon could forget some kind of tool in my body and I wouldn’t know about it until years later when I keep setting off the metal detectors in airports. Or I could..*gulp* die in some freakish this-never-happens-but-once-in-a-million-surgeries and that would really suck. My family accuses me of drifting toward the melodramatic when I say these things but someone has to be the statistic and sometimes my luck isn’t so hot. Just ask my best friend. She’ll tell you. If it’s odd, unexplainable, or just plain OMG that was weird! it’ll happen to me. *sigh* Guess I’m special.

So, I could use a little good luck coming my way if anyone were so inclined. Good thoughts count too. I’ll post again when I come out the other side, minus an organ but feeling 100 percent better.

Happy writing!

Kimberly

6 responses to this post.

  1. Kim–You are going to sail through this, and you’ll feel much better when it’s over. I understand wanting the gravel gone and opting not to flush (that sounds weird). I’ll be sending good vibes to both you and your surgeon.
    Good luck! Jeannie

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brooke on July 13, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Coincidentally enough my neighbor just had her gall bladder taken out a couple of months ago, and she’s only 29 or 30. Funny story: she ended up going to the ER at JCF because of heart and stomach issues. When they called her husband into the ER room, and he saw the sonogram, she said he just went pale as death because he assumed that it was, naturally, for a pregnancy, which would make a second oops after his vasectomy! Let’s just say he was happy that it was only the gall bladder and not a fourth child.

    She hurt for about a week, but it didn’t leave that bad of a scar. You’ll be fine. My aunt had hers taken out in the eighties when they had to practically cut you in half to get that sucker out. Be thankful medicine and technology have progressed since then!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rene' LaRoche on July 14, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Sending good thoughts and blessings your way (but I know you will be fine and won’t need them.)

    Here’s to feeling like your old self!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kenna on July 14, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Hey Girlie,

    You will be fine. I had mine out on November 1 of last year. I went through the nesting thing, I made sure the house was spotless, the fridge was full, the checkbook was balanced, I went a bit overboard. But it was the best thing, I just watch the amount of fat I eat and everything is good. I feel sooooooooo much better, I should have done it eons ago.

    Hugs,

    Kenna

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ellen on July 14, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Wishing you lots and lots of luck even
    though you will be just fine. And you
    will really enjoy life again once its
    gone.

    Reply

  6. How are you feeling sista? I have been thinking of you and hope you are feeling better. Love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

